3,306 Views
0 Shares

Utah Concealed Carry Permits Now Recognized in Nevada

As of July 1, concealed carry permits issued in Utah are recognized in Nevada, as long as the permit holder is at least 21 years of age.

Nevada previously had reciprocity with 16 other states that had concealed carry permit requirements that were the same as or greater than its own. Nevada’s reciprocity agreements required permit holders to have live-fire training, which Utah doesn’t require for concealed carry permit applicants.

This change in Nevada’s gun laws has expanded the number of states with which Nevada offers concealed carry permit reciprocity to 26. Nevada now recognizes concealed carry permits issued by the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Idaho (Enhanced Permit)
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi (Enhanced Permits)
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota (Enhanced Permits)
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

NOTE: Gun laws change frequently, so check to make sure your state’s concealed carry permit is recognized in Nevada before you carry a concealed weapon in the state.

The expansion of the states with concealed carry reciprocity in Nevada comes from gun legislation signed into law last year by Republican Governor Brian Sandoval. The law expands concealed carry permit reciprocity with states that require applicants to complete a class, training or program before obtaining their permit.

If you reside in Nevada, you must obtain a concealed carry permit in the state. Out-of-state concealed carry permit reciprocity is not sufficient after 60 days of becoming a Nevada resident.

Ready to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit?

American Concealed provides handgun safety certification in six states: Arizona, Idaho, Iowa, Oregon, Virginia and Wyoming. With our online course, you can receive firearms training in the comfort and convenience of your own home. All you need to do is watch our safety training video, take an online test, and submit the necessary paperwork and fees. After that you’ll be eligible to receive your concealed carry permit (as long as you meet the state’s requirements).

 

Comments:

Advertisement
Virginia Concealed MobileAdvertisement